why are we so afraid to dream?

I am a dreamer. I have lots of ideas and dreams and passion(s) and hopes…

I am very open about sharing my dreams…and I wonder why we, collectively, are afraid to dream. And also, why are we afraid to share our dreams? Do we doubt the dream giver? The dreams I have, I hold deeply, believing particular dreams are from God and holding onto that, hoping for those to come to life, in His perfect timing. And if they’re not…then they won’t. And I just hold onto Ephesians 3:20-21 looking forward to things I can’t even dream or even imagine!

I read this amazing book last year called Dreaming with God by Bill Johnson of Bethel Church and Jesus Culture, and there were only a few minor things that I didn’t fully agree with, just a couple minor doctrinal things. But the meat of this book was about simply that…Dreaming…with…God.

He talks about culture and the power of dreaming big dreams for God, for His Kingdom. The subtitle alludes to this, Co-laboring with God for cultural transformation.  This totally ties into what Justin Pardee has been teaching on at the Co+op the past month. PRD explains how there are 7 areas of influence/sectors in society:

-Business, Government, Education, Arts & Entertainment, Science, and the Church. (I think I missed one…someone? help?comment?)

The only thing that all of those have in common is the church.

Justin’s been reinforcing this point that the local church is the hope of the world. Along with this statement:

God has called me to tell a story WITH my life rather than just the story of my life.

Going back to the Dreaming book, Johnson really reinforces the ideas of co-laborer and how we are to live as people who have been created in the image of God, and how we are to bear that likeness and represent our God well. He talks about wisdom and honor, and the connection between divine wisdom and creativity.

A few quotes from the book:

“Partnering with Him in His dreams will release in us a new capacity to dream like Him.

“When UNbelievers lead the way in inventions and artistic expression, it is because the church has embraced a false kind of spirituality.”

“His heartbeat becomes our heartbeat as we celebrate the shift in our own desires.”

“The devil himself has no creative abilities whatsoever. All he can do is distort and deform what God has made.”

It’s really interesting to think about creativity and wisdom. In the second chapter of Dreaming, he talks about how Bezalel (the creatively awesome dude in Exodus 31 and 35) is one of the first if not the first guys who’s described as being filled with the Spirit. Just really cool stuff. I think I just convinced myself to go re-read it..haha. I’ll end this here…and maybe we’ll pick back up on this later.

Peace…and dreams :)

Leave a Reply

