The Single Girl: Love is Waiting 2


I have really clung to these words from Song of Solomon 8:4 “Do not arouse or awaken love until it so desires.” and I like how the Message says, “until the time is ripe—and you’re ready”

I like that: the verse is addressed to women. It’s very straightforward. There is no messing around, double meaning intended.

It’s not easy being the girl that has never dated, never been kissed or anything. But I can assure you I do not regret pursuing purity and being single and not having any unwanted baggage, at least in this area.  I thank God for protecting me mentally, emotionally, and physically. God has kept his promise and kept very good care of my heart. He has guarded my heart. I say this not to brag, whatsoever. This is just part of my story, and since God wrote it, I will tell it.

I recognize that I and my situation and lifes’ circumstances are and have been unique. Here is the point of my little story:

putting Christ first by guarding my heart (very imperfectly I must add) and not allowing myself to pursue a guy has saved me a lot of drama.

And I thank God for the patience and restraint he has given me, for it is God who has strengthened and empowered me and placed the strict moral convictions in my heart. I will not pursue a guy. Call me what you want. I won’t do it.

It was God who gave me restraint for almost each and everyone of those crushes.  I have managed to keep my mouth shut and keep my “feelings” to myself (or just to my girlfriends) and I think this has actually been beneficial for me.

As I get older, it is funny to watch and see as each of them get married, one at a time and I am not bitter, they made their choice, and I am not left out or alone. There goes another one, as I discovered this weekend.

It was nothing more than a “crush” every single time.

God has saved me the drama, the heartbreak or at the very least awkward conversations, because as I count them off on my first hand, and then the second hand, I am just thankful to have avoided the drama. Of course there was always the internal drama and battle. Even keeping my mouth shut when I wanted to blurt something out about my “feelings.”

I freely admit that it’s not easy. I want to initiate. I want to pursue. My flesh wants so much more. But I cannot allow the flesh to rule over me, as a child of God, because the Spirit of God dwells within.

My body is not my own, I was bought with a price, so I will glorify God with my body. (based on 1 Cor 6:20)

But I’ll never find the right guy by pursuing every guy I take a little liking to, a little crush, from some stupid thing like “oh my gosh, we both breathe air! he likes music! he likes tea! he tolerates my quirks” haha. Especially as a strong woman, a strong personality who wants someone stronger, a spiritual leader, a man of God, a man who walks with God, worships God, and repents of sin and runs to God. That kind of man will pursue me.

Love is waiting.

But I am a whole person. Not a half. My identity will not be wrapped up in my relationship status. I am a child of God, a daughter of the King, and that’s all that matters.

So don’t feel sorry for me. God fills my life with many good things. Most especially himself. <3

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Stephanie says:

    Beautiful post LJ! I loved how humbly you introduce your story “since God wrote it, I will tell it.”

    You share some really great wisdom here :)

    1. Lori Jo says:

      Thanks Steph! I’m glad it came across that way, I wanted it to not sound like I was boasting, or being pious or something. :) Thanks again.

  2. Joëlle says:

    wow, I love this post!
    I came across your blog while I was looking for something written by leslie ludy!
    God bless
    Joelle

Leave a Reply

