The Single Girl: Love is Waiting 1

I’ve been wanting to do this “series” for awhile. My beautiful friend Bea (bayuhh, not bee!) made a few of these banners for me (this is just one of 3) and I’ve been holding onto them for a little bit. It’s going to be an ongoing series. But I had a few thoughts this weekend and wanted to share them. But first here is a verse and a song to get us warmed up :)

Oh, let me warn you, sisters in Jerusalem:
Don’t excite love, don’t stir it up,
until the time is ripe—and you’re ready. -MSG

Promise me, O women of Jerusalem,
not to awaken love until the time is right -NLT

Daughters of Jerusalem, I charge you:
Do not arouse or awaken love
until it so desires. -NIV

Song of Solomon 8:4

(completely irrelevant sidenote, the esv translation of this verse is lame)

Love is Waiting

I watch as lovers pass me by
Walking stories who’s and how’s and why’s
Musing lazily on love, Pondering you

// I’ll give it time, give it space, and be still for a spell,
when it’s time to walk that way, we want to walk it well.

// i’ll be waiting for you baby,
I’ll be holding back the darkest night.
Love is waiting til we’re ready, til it’s right

Love is waiting

// It’s my caution not the cold,
There’s no other hand that I would rather hold,
The climate changes as I’m singing for strangers about you,

Don’t keep time, slow the pace,
Honey hold on if you can ….

// i’ll be waiting for you baby,
I’ll be holding back the darkest night.
Love is waiting til we’re ready, til it’s right.

// I could write a million songs about the way you say my name,
I could live a lifetime with you and then do it all again,
And like I can’t force the sun to rise or hasten summer’s start,
Neither should I rush my way into your heart.

// i’ll be waiting for you baby,
I’ll be holding back the darkest night.
Love is waiting til we’re ready, til it’s right.

Love is waiting.”

by Brooke Fraser. One of my favorite love songs, ever. I left a few lines out, where the “…” are, some I can’t figure out. It’s just missing the first part of the first verse and part of a pre chorus. I have kept all the important and relevant parts here.


(really adorable live recording/performance at the El Rey a couple years ago? and very unusual to see her singing without an instrument!)


Leave a Reply

