blog without a title.

I disagree…that ‘it doesn’t matter what you do…‘ with every fiber of my being.

I agree that character is important. Integrity is important.

I agree that a job/career doesn’t define you. I agree that we should find our purpose in Christ and our worth and fulfillment in Christ.
But.

 

I believe each of us are gifted and talented  in unique ways and I am always frustrated when I hear this sort of “advice” with a lack of sound Biblical backing.

Deep within me in the core of my soul and who I am made, I long to see passionate people doing what they were made to do, I believe there is more to life than the weekend. It makes me sad that it’s all many people have to look forward. I mean, I love Sundays, but I’m pretty sure that’s not what people are talking about when they say they can’t wait for the weekend.  I think something is wrong with the system and it frustrates me. We send people to school and tell them great and exciting things, but fail to prepare them for the confusion of the workforce and the real world. Don’t even get me started on interviews and applications and “the system”. There must be a better balance? There must be a better way.

Making money (for the sake of making money) makes me miserable.

I believe we can serve the church and God’s kingdom both inside and outside the church. I am still trying to figure out how to best serve God in the confines of “work” and what that looks like.

I believe it is bad advice. What good is a Christian worker if they care nothing about their job? I’m not in that place. I don’t know if I’ll ever be in that place. But it would’ve been un-real of me not to say this. I wouldn’t be honest with myself if I was worried about offending someone.

I love Derek’s perspective, that we should be pouring more of our lives into living and sharing the gospel, and going into all the world and planning our lives around that

instead of a spouse
and a house
and two point five
kids
an american dream
that looks more like a trap
than it does a dream
Church,
CHURCH BODY:

DREAM BIGGER DREAMS!

*

“feed my sheep”
“I came that they may have life and have it abundantly.” (Jn. 10:10)
“I am the WAY, the TRUTH and the LIFE” (Jn. 14)

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Jenni says:

    Following your statement on Derek’s perspective, part of planning my life around sharing the gospel may mean taking a job in a strategic place even though it’s not necessarily a “dream job”.
    Maybe that’s what I’m doing…if I had my way I would be teaching kindergarteners. Instead I will have huge (40-50 student) class of university students. But that’s more strategic for sharing the gospel.

    What do you think?

    1. Lori Jo says:

      I think that depends on what “dream job” means to you.
      To me, dream job means doing that thing that I’m made for, passionate, burdened for and equipped by the Lord, not something that will make me lots of money, fame or stable income or anything in between. (though i long for stability, a common longing of mk’s)

      I think you are pursuing God first and following the steps that he has laid for you, and that the more steps you take, the more you will find your “dream job” the thing that only you were made to do… I love love love John Ortberg’s writings and connect deeply with the ways he describes life and flourishing. Life abundant.

      The place God calls you to is where your deep gladness and the world’s deep hunger meet. (Frederick Buechner)

      Don’t over think it. :) love you! xoxo

Leave a Reply

