song for Japan {hold back the waters}


I went to bed last night with a heavy heart after hearing the devastating news about the earthquake and tsunami in Japan. When I woke up today, I had a few thoughts. The first, I was reminded of Psalm 46, one of the few I have memorized, here are the verses 1-7, in the NIV, the translation I have memorized.

God is our refuge and strength,
an ever-present help in trouble.
Therefore we will not fear, though the earth give way
and the mountains fall into the heart of the sea,
though its waters roar and foam
and the mountains quake with their surging.

There is a river whose streams make glad the city of God,
the holy place where the Most High dwells.
God is within her, she will not fall;
God will help her at break of day.
Nations are in uproar, kingdoms fall;
he lifts his voice, the earth melts.

The LORD Almighty is with us;
the God of Jacob is our fortress.

As I thought about the first 3 verses, I came to my next thought, which was simply a prayer, Lord have mercy, and Kyrie Eleison, (greek for Lord have mercy) a frequently sung text from my time in choir.  It evolved very quickly into a song. I finished it and played it tonight at the IMAGO DEI event at Sandals Church. I wanted to share the lyrics here, and hopefully I’ll have a recording to share soon, my awesome friend Alyssa, who had a beautiful blue painting on display, said she got it on her phone, so I’ll link to it as soon as she gets it uploaded.

song for Japan {hold back the waters} by Lori Joanne Quick

Father we appeal
on behalf
of our brothers and sisters
the sons and the daughters
who walk in darkness

Kyrie Eleison
Kyrie Eleison

Father forgive us
for ignorance and apathy
for failing to see the need
for failing to fall on our knees

on behalf, of all who are hurting
confused and abandoned
trapped and alone

Kyrie Eleison
Kyrie Eleison
Lord have mercy
Lord have mercy

I know
that one word from your lips
can calm the storm
You lift your voice
the raging seas will calm

Hold back the waters
Hold back the waters
Rescue your people
Lord have mercy
Calm the sea

Kyrie Eleison
Kyrie Eleison

Hold back the waters
Lord have mercy
Calm the sea

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

