New Song and Why I Wrote It: Trust

What you are about to hear is the sound of  yours truly alone in a tiny practice room with a baby grand on a Friday afternoon. I recorded this rough take on my iPhone, it’s an original song I wrote this past summer. It’s rough but I wanted to get it out here and let u have a listen. I am hoping to get more of these out there to share and stop keeping them to myself and my iPhone :) A little bit more about the song…the phrase I trust in You and Lord Jesus, I trust in you are not so much grand statements of faith, but rather a desperate plea and reminder to my heart.

The summer that I worked at Forest Home, I learned about a little type of prayer called a breath prayer (where you breathe in a phrase and exhale) and this was my breath prayer: “Lord Jesus, I trust you

This idea turned into this little song, that I know without a doubt that God granted me and helped me to uncover and share. I have shared this with a few small groups of people, and the first time I shared it, everyone in the room began to sing it with me. It was one of the most incredible moments of my life, to hear other people singing songs that I have been writing. It was an incredible night of worship, not for the talent, not for the lights or fancy equipment, I was sitting in my friend’s living room at the piano with a room full of worshipers, and the Spirit of the Lord was there With us. And that is why I continue to attempt to write and record despite my inadequacies and inabilities and insufficiencies.

Because He asked me to.

Whatever I do
wherever I go
all glory to You
Lord Jesus, I trust in You

<3 lorijo

Song by Lori Joanne Quick Copyright 2010

EDIT: Here are the full lyrics :)

VERSE 1:
I trust in You
to lead the way
Direct my path
and light the way

PRE-CHORUS
Whatever I do
Wherever I go
All glory to you
Lord Jesus, I trust in You

CHORUS:
Wherever You lead
I will follow
Guide my steps
I trust in You

VERSE 2:
I trust in You
for everything
Rid all my pride
my fear, my doubt

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Derek says:

    Nice job! Keep using the gifts God has given you for His glory!

    1. Lori Jo says:

      Thank you so much for the encouragement Derek! I was blessed by your teaching today! I’m really enjoying membership class so far!!

  2. Bea says:

    This is one of my fave songs by you LJ…glad you recorded a rough version..keep it up! :)

    1. Lori Jo says:

      thank you my beautiful Bea <3

  3. Lori Jo says:

    gratitude. warm fuzzies. surprise… I appreciate the support, and I am not just saying that to be polite, I am so encouraged, by both of you! Thank you SO much!! <3 lj

  4. Erika says:

    Lori, your song is so beautiful. I love listening to you sing, you have an amazing gift. Keep it up! (And keep posting more… )

  5. Abe says:

    Hi Lori Jo! Wow, that was beautiful… well done! Your explanation …”the phrase I trust in You and Lord Jesus, I trust in you are not so much grand statements of faith, but rather a desperate plea and reminder to my heart.” is how I feel too! Thanks for sharing!

  6. You are sooo talented!!! This is a beautiful song.

  7. Lori Jo says:

    You guys!! I am feeling so loved right now! Thank you so much for the love and support and super encouraging encouragement!!! <3 So loved. xoxo

  8. KellySinging says:

    It’s pretty. :) I couldn’t hear all the words, but that’s probably from fluid in my ears right now.

    1. Lori Jo says:

      Thanks Kelly! It’s probably bc I was singing from memory and the iPhone wasn’t right by my face. So I mumbled and switched a couple of words. hehe

    2. Lori Jo says:

      I just added the lyrics so you can see all the words that are supposed to be there :D

Leave a Reply

