dove’s eyes

When I first heard Misty Edward’s song, Dove’s Eyes, I loved it right away, but I was curious what characteristic it was about doves that made them different from other birds. A google search led me to this and I absolutely love the description! Here is the article/link.

I loved it so much I wanted to share some of my favorite thoughts, quoted from this article:

When a dove fixes its gaze upon its mate, it is not distracted by any activities around it.

Our having this dove’s eye indicates that we are becoming increasingly aware of the Lord’s person and presence, and that we possess a spiritual awareness that will lift us above the pulls of the earthly.  This “single eye will enable us to become sensitive to the Lord’s presence, and obedient to His desire and purpose.

I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will counsel you with my eye upon you. Psalm 32:8

This intense desire that she expresses is singularly toward her Lord, and she seeks to gaze upon Him alone.  She can no longer be satisfied with a knowledge of things about the Lord.  The ministries, abilities, or personalities of His servants are no longer enough, for now she must personally know the Lord, Himself.

An intense reduction of all her ambitions, desires, and dreams has brought her to this place.  Now that her vision has become single, the Lord is ready to lead her on.

“Rise up, My love, My fair one, and come away” Song of Solomon 2:10

“…only that which is of God has any lasting value.”

The Lord is my light and my salvation, whom shall I fear? One thing I have asked of the Lord, that I will seek after: that I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life, to gaze upon the beauty of the Lord and to inquire in his temple.  Psalm 27:1 & 4

Here are all the lyrics below, the part that stands out most to me is the last line, undistracted devotion. I wish to have that kind of vision, to seek first the Kingdom. (Matthew 6:33)

DOVE’S EYES LYRICS:

I don’t want to talk about You like You’re not in the room
I want to look right at You I want to sing right to You

I believe that You are listening
I believe that You move at the sound of my voice

Give me dove’s eyes
Give me undistracted devotion for only You

Leave a Reply

