Healing through Worship or why I sing

These hands are Yours
Teach them to serve as You please
And I’ll reach out desperate to see
All the greatness of God
May my soul rest assured in You

‘Cause I know that You’re alive
You came to fix my broken life
And I sing to glorify
Your holy Name
Jesus Christ (fire fall down, full lyrics and chords)

Singing is the primary way that I connect with God. I was singing out LOUD and worshiping this morning on the way to work and despite everything that is going on in my life, in my heart, everything, just giving him everything within me, singing LOUD. Without faith, without music, without worship, I would be lost in confusion, drowning in self-pity, overwhelmed by life. But because I have faith, because I have music, because through worship God takes that offering, that sacrifice and he renews our strength, he reminds us that he is the only source of joy and he alone can satisfy, fix my broken life, and use me for his kingdom.

My whole life I place in your hands…I call. You answer. And you came to my rescue, and I want to be where you are. In my life be lifted high. my world be lifted high. in my love, be lifted high. (came to my rescue)

This quote expresses what I understand worship to be, and how it is part of the healing process:

“Worship is powerful because God’s presence comes to dwell in our midst when we praise Him, and in His presence we find healing, transformation, and direction for our lives. In fact, the more time we spend praising the Lord, the more we will see ourselves and our circumstances grow in wholeness and completeness. That’s because praise softens our hearts and makes them pliable. It also covers us protectively. The more pliability and covering are maintained, the more quickly our hearts can be molded and healed.” – Stormie Omartian, from Praying God’s Will for Your Life

Leave a Reply

